Interesting

Hello All!!!

Welcome to another week. This week I found myself having fun getting my poems together for class so that I can submit my poetry portfolio. I was able to reflect on life and use it as motivation to write about something that someone somewhere will find helpful.

I was also pleased to begin reading our fiction packet!!! While I am a fan of poetry, I must say our selection was not that appealing to my tastes. But the fiction stories have sparked some excitement and interest. The first story was actually my favorite because it made me think about the struggle that the gay/lesbian communty faces. Its like they love their partners so much but they still face judgement by outsiders as well as family memebers and some friends. Reading this I became emotional from the begining where the narrator starts talking about the T-cell counts being down in him and his partner. Here they are both sick and probably living in their last days, and he is reflecting and saying that he hopes that he passes first. At first he starts by making lite of the situation saying that he doesnt want to have to take care of his lovers Parrot. But then he digs deeper, and the reality comes out of why he really doesnt want live longer than his lover. The guilt of being blamed the judgement and negativity that he would encounter from his lovers family. At first I think how lovely, but how selfish. How does he know that his lover would like him to die first, maybe he would like to pass away first so that he doesnt have to deal with the last days of his life being lonely and depressing from the sounds of it his family is not very supporting of the lifestyle that he has chosen to live.

All together the stories were lovely, all of the authors are great with their wording and making you feel as if you are right there. In “The Letter From Home” the opening lines put me right in the country setting where all of this is taking place. I can picture a warm..Hot summer day with the flies buzzing about the kids running around and the fresh scent of bread coming from the oven. It stimulates my imagination and it puts me into the story. I cannot wait to go over the readings in class to see what everyone else thought of them.

Leave a comment